2008 Diversity Visa Lottery Instructions Released

October 10, 2006- The Department of State's Bureau of Consular Affairs has released instructions for the 2008 Diversity Immigrant Visa Program. Entries for the DV-2008 lottery must be submitted electronically between noon EDT (GMT-4) October 4, 2006, and noon EST (GMT-5) Sunday, December 3, 2006. Paper entries will not be accepted. Applicants may access the electronic DV entry form and instructions at http://travel.state.gov/visa/immigrants/types/types_1318.html during the registration period. Because heavy demand may result in Web site delays, applicants are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last week to enter. Also, receipt of more than one entry per person will disqualify the person from registration. There is no fee.

For DV-2008, natives of the following countries are not eligible to apply because these countries sent more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. over the previous five years: Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Pakistan, Philippines, Peru, Poland, Russia, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam. Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR and Taiwan are eligible.

To enter the lottery, a person must have either a high school education or its equivalent, or two years of work experience within the past five years in an occupation requiring at least two years of training or experience to perform.

Please let us know if you need assistance with the application, email our support center.

Schedule a Consultation - 866.488.1554